Conservative MPs and Peers support Iran Uprising;

Stress that the prospect of change in Iran has never been this accessible urging the UK Government to recognise the right of the Iranian people to defend themselves by any means necessary and to overthrow this regime.

30 Conservative MPs and Peers at the Party Conference in Birmingham backed a statement by the British Committee for Iran Freedom supporting the Iran uprising.

The popular uprising in Iran continues and spreads to all of Iran’s 31 provinces and to more than 164 cities and 16 major universities across the country despite the brutal crackdown by the regime and its security forces killing 300 and arresting 15000.

The signatories joined their cross-party colleagues in the British Committee for Iran Freedom to urge the UK Government to strongly condemn the killing of demonstrators in Iran and take urgent measures to stop this repression.

“The dossier of this regime's crimes must be referred to the United Nations Security Council and those responsible for committing such crimes must be brought to justice in particular regime’s Supreme Leader Khamenei and current President, Ebrahim Raisi”, the Conservative MPs said, calling on the UK Government to lead the international efforts to end impunity in Iran through the UN.

They also urge the UK Government to guarantee free access to the Internet for the people of Iran and to make the UK's continued relationship with Iran contingent upon the release of all those arrested during the recent uprising.

The Conservative MPs and Peers pointed out that “the people of Iran have a democratic alternative whose goals are enshrined in the Ten-point Plan articulated by Mrs. Maryam Rajavi, the President-elect of the National Council of Resistance of Iran (NCRI).”

“This alternative deserves all-embracing support”, they said, calling on the UK Government to recognise and back Mrs Rajavi's democratic platform.

Bob Blackman MP

Co-President of the the International Committee of Parliamentarians for a Democratic Iran (ICPDI)

Prominent member of the British Committee for Iran Freedom

6 October 2022